Home > News > Industry News > Car and Truck of the Year–PH Awards Night set

Car and Truck of the Year–PH Awards Night set

After successfully mounting the three-day testfest in NUVALI in Sta. Rosa, Laguna, the Car Awards Group, Inc. (CAGI) is set to honor this year’s outstanding vehicles at the 2016 Car of the Year – Philippines Awards Night on Monday, November 21, 2016.

A total of 72 vehicles representing 25 brands and with a total value of over Php 160 million participated in this year’s testing. Up for grabs are 19 category awards that will recognize the vehicles that received the highest marks in their segment. Included in the list to be named are the newly added Wagon and Commercial Utility Vehicle categories that had three and two entries, respectively. From this elite circle of winners shall emerge the 2016 Car of the Year – Philippines and 2016 Truck of the Year – Philippines.

“The Car of the Year – Philippines Award is not simply a show of hands or popularity contest. The COTY Awards seeks to empower the Filipino consumer to make informed choices based on the independent judgment of the CAGI jurors. The CAGI tests the vehicles to gather evidence of real world acceleration, braking, and handling performance. They examine and drive the vehicles to grade the aesthetics, ergonomics, comfort and driving dynamics. After number crunching by KPMG R.G. Manabat & Co., CAGI can assure the car buyers of truly deserving 2016 COTY – PH winners at the Awards Night on Monday” said Robby Consunji, President of the Car Awards Group, Inc.

The 2016 Car of the Year Awards is co-presented by Carmudi.com.ph and was made possible by partner KPMG R.G. Manabat & Co. Other sponsors include Ayala Land Premier; NUVALI; Metro Pacific Tollways Corporation; Motolite Batteries; El Cielito Hotel – Sta. Rosa; Manila International Auto Show; Worldbex International; and Speedlab. Official media partners include BusinessMirror, BusinessWorld, Malaya Business Insight, Manila Bulletin, Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Manila Times, The Philippine Star, Auto Review, Turbo Zone, and JamesDeakin.ph.